Www.ssz.dev for SimpleSerialize

Introducing

www.ssz.dev

An educational website and in-browser playground devoted to SimpleSerialize.

About ME

My name is Scotty. I’m an itty-bitty newbie beginner programmer with dreams of being super useful to this wonderful community. I have been learning to code for about a year, and took on this project as a way to dive deep into Ethereum, while also learning how to build web apps and websites.

About the project

Phase 1… or 0? The first Phase…

I began my coding journey with Python, and focused mostly on core computer science and data science concepts. While interested in how the internet works, a career in “making websites” was not terribly motivating for me, and I mostly ignored web-design subjects.

So, naturally, the first thing I did was commit to making a website for something…

Which meant I had to rewind…learn JavaScript i suppose?..figure out the rest as I go.

Therefore the first month of the project involved a lot of non-SSZ related learning. JS came easily, which lead me to React, and ultimately NextJS as a framework to build the SSZ project. I know I probably could have used a pre-compiled blog website template somewhere and focused entirely on the SSZ material, but as much as possible I want to build things myself, even if it takes longer or requires me to go on wild tangents to figure out what I am doing.

Here we are

I have been working on the site for a couple months, and recently deployed the first phase of it to www.ssz.dev.