Unitrie, a replacement of the state trie in Eth 1.0 (or 2.0)

I’ve been working since 2016 on storage rent and other improvements to the EVM, mainly for use in RSK, but also for Ethereum. This week I posted an article about the Unitrie, a special kind of radix-2 Patricia Trie that reduces memory consumption, storage, CPU load, bandwidth, complexity, provides DoS protection for fast-warp-sync, enables simpler garbage collection, storage rent and data hibernation.
You can find the article here https://www.rsk.co/noticia/towards-higher-onchain-scalability-with-the-unitrie/

The Unitrie is specified in RSKIPs but I’m willing to create associated EIPs if this proposal is of the interest of the Ethereum community.

You can go directly to the RSKIP repository and read RSKIP16, RSKIP107, RSKIP108, RSKIP109, RSKIP112, RSKIP113, RSKIP116, RSKIP117, but I highly recommend the article as the starting point.

4 Likes

So the current approach for eth2 is that contracts are fixed-size (in part to make rent simpler, but also for other reasons, including to make yanking, hibernation and waking simpler), and we use a simple binary sparse Merkle tree at consensus level (with optimizations at client level to achieve the performance we’re used to).

The idea of using top80bits(h(addr)) + addr instead of h(addr) as the key is definitely interesting and does solve one of the significant objections to the current trie structure that I know about.

Using binary sparse trees is nice because they support optimal Merkle multiproofs of exactly the same form as we use for simple Merkle trees.

What concrete differences and benefits are in the Unitrie aside from this?

1 Like