How much should I care about the price of ETH?

There have been a couple of interesting threads on this topic on Twitter lately. This is my effort to move the conversation over here in threaded format:

As a core developer, I don’t feel that it’s my job to a. follow the price of ETH, b. care about the price of ETH, or c. optimize for the price of ETH. As Justin says here, the price is an “external factor” that’s going to do what it’s going to do – the markets are stupid and irrational and should not have an impact on our building.

However, as @ameensol and several other community members have pointed out, we should be concerned about price in so far as a more valuable currency makes for a more secure network – this is true in both POW and POS.

Some have also pointed to the concept of reflexivity which, if I understand correctly, suggests that investors’ perceptions matter as much as reality and in fact there is a feedback loop whereby these perceptions can lead to price movements that are detached from reality. The risk here would be that a perception on the part of app developers or investors today that Ethereum was losing its lead could be a self-fulfilling prophecy that could in fact cause it to lose its lead.

One reason I’m unconvinced that the price of ETH matters is because I feel that, in theory, we could take all of the things that make ETH great – smart contracts, the VM, the tooling, the apps, the community, etc. – and migrate it so that its base-layer security depends upon Bitcoin, or Polkadot, or some other protocol, if that protocol hypothetically proved more secure.

I can see both sides to this story and I haven’t yet figured out how to reconcile these two opposing ideas but I’m curious to hear what others think.

2 Likes

I’d like to add another question to this thread.
At what price of ETH does Ethereum network become insecure?

2 Likes