EIP-7529: DNS over HTTPS for Contract Discovery and eTLD+1 Association

At Snickerdoodle Labs, we’ve had good success leveraging whats proposed in this draft EIP in our own protocol. We decided to write it up as a proposal and see if the Ethereum community would also find it useful.

This proposal describes a simple standard to leverage TXT records to discover smart contracts and verify their association with a known DNS domain. This is enabled by the relatively recent support for DNS over HTTPS (DoH) by most major DNS providers.

This is my first time attempting to contribute an EIP, I’ve tried my best to stick to the contributor instructions, so apologies if I’ve missed a step.

Link to draft pr: https://github.com/ethereum/EIPs/pull/7815

1 Like

Hey! Haven’t had a chance to look at your EIP in depth yet, but Add EIP: Domain-contracts two-way binding by VenkatTeja · Pull Request #6807 · ethereum/EIPs · GitHub seems like it might be similar. Perhaps your team and @web3panther would like to coordinate?

cool, we’ll check it out!

Why mention DNS-over-HTTPS and not DNSSEC? I was under the impression that they accomplish roughly similar goals.

What benefits does including the TXT record have over simply serving the dapp over HTTPS? You can still check that the domain is in the contract for the “cross-checking” you mention.

I’m not entirely sure what the benefit of checking the domain in the contract is. If the domain is compromised, can’t the attacker point to a different contract that’s malicious?

If the “good” contract is used by an unapproved domain, is that bad?

This part of the proposal just seems to hurt the modularity/lego bricks philosophy of Ethereum contracts, locking them to a single domain. Imagine if the Uniswap contracts charged a fee to be included in their approved domains list!

Thanks for the engagement @SamWilsn! So I wrote up some responses for you here: