EIP-5920: PAY opcode

Although I am an EIP editor, I do not specialize in core EIPs, and this is my first core EIP. Any feedback is appreciated!

2 Likes

There are a number of such proposals, the latest one being

3 Likes

EIP-5065 is Stagnant (and should have been stagnant when you sent that message - it wasn’t due to an EIP-bot bug). In addition, there are quite a few issues with the linked EIP, such as the hexadecimal being invalid. I’ll ping @maxsam4, and move this EIP to review if there isn’t a response in two weeks.

There has not been a response in >14 days. @axic would you mind taking a closer look before I move this to review?

Adding the cancun-candidate tag.

Could we throw in a burn opcode too? There is an actual benefit to having one because you could leave the address out and it would shorten the contract bytecode.

If you search on solidity forum I suggested send and burn keywords. These could be the opcodes generated by those keywords.

According to the current spec, sending ether to address(0) is currently allowed. How about we make that a special case that burns ether?

EDIT: Done

I think the EVM implementations could subtract the amount from the balance of the burner without adding it to the balance of the 0 address (or other burn address), which would be very slightly more efficient.

That’s what I just added:

• Transfers val wei from the executing address to the address addr. If addr is the zero address, instead, val wei is burned from the executing address.
1 Like

I’m a big fan of this idea and the earlier EIP-5065. Any insight as to why these earlier proposals stagnated?

The author went AWOL, and the proposal also had some issues, such as assigning the opcode to the “hexadecimal” value 0xFG. Ceci n’est pas hexadecimal.

1 Like

I support this EIP because:

1. Reentrancy attacks are very frequent and dangerous, reducing attack surface for them is great