Complaint - quality of writing in EIP-4337

Hello all,

Firstly, I’m sorry that my first engagement with the community is to whinge. However, I sincerely feel that my moaning is in the very best interests of Ethereum. It’s also possible that I’m wrong or shouldn’t be poking around this deep.

As part of learning Ethereum, I’ve been picking the most well known EIPs, reading them and making notes. All has been fine until I reached 4337.

The quality of writing is very poor, to the point of me either failing to comprehend large parts of it, or making guesses in my notes. I’m new to Ethereum but I have fully read and made notes on Mastering Ethereum, O’Reilly, and I’ve been coding almost daily for 39 years.

This particular EIP is long and complicated, and so I suspect the collaborators are a) time-poor b) experts with tacit knowledge who subconsciously infer what’s meant by vague terms (Curse of Knowledge) c) are being extemporaneous, i.e. working it out, as they type.

I won’t list all its problems but there are faults in almost every sentence, and concepts and terms are mixed or ill-defined, not meticulously stuck to.

At points, there aren’t even capital letters starting some of the sentences, which demonstrates extreme lack of care or time. Even the code has sloppy use of whitespace.

When someone saves a minute in writing clearly, they steal that minute from thousands of other readers. Harsh, but true.

I can’t fix it or suggest edits or rewrite it for other’s benefit because I can’t grasp what it’s saying with any confidence.

Anyway, I’m drawing attention to this, at risk of looking rude and demanding, because I strongly believe that adoption follows documentation and developer experience (think of Cuda vs. ROCm in AI and its impact on Nvidia’s sales).