Suggestions for improving the Ethereum reference tests

Posted by Matthew Halpbern as an ethereum/tests issue:

If I was to summarize this, it would be to make the Ethereum reference tests more systematic in a way that lowers the barrier to implementing a client from scratch, which include more granular test suites as well as a road map for how implementers should go about bringing capabilities online and testing them. Additionally there are opportunities to add conventions/consistency amongst test suites specifications/formats and include information about what test suites and individual test cases are evaluating.

Posted earlier to the ethereum/tests gitter channel:

[Matthalp] I am a core developer of Pantheon, the Java-based Ethereum client being developed at PegaSys/ConsenSys. My main area of focus has been on block processing/importing where I’ve spent a lot of time working with the various Ethereum reference tests.

There Ethereum reference tests have been invaluable getting our block processing capabilities online and I am grateful for all of the effort everyone has put into them— thank you! I could not imagine how hard it would be to implement block processing without having that level of test coverage — especially all of the edge cases that are not immediately clear just by reading the Yellow Paper.

While the retesteth project is underway, I think it would be a good time to revisit the different test suites and test specification formats. Having just entered the space ten months ago and implementing these functionalities these test from scratch, I think there are some good opportunities to make it easier for the next set of Ethereum clients to come online, which I am more than happy to help with/drive. Some of these improvements include: