EIP-5792 - Wallet Function Call API

Thread to discuss EIP-5792

2 Likes

Re @SamWilsn:

I don’t like this design. It doesn’t force interoperability between wallets. A bundle created with WalletA may or may not be usable with WalletB. I would suggest either:

I might be misunderstanding the comment, but I don’t think interoperability between wallets of a specific bundle identifier is a specific goal of this (that is, if you have both Rainbow and Metamask with the same EOA imported, you should not expect dapps to have consistent transaction UX between connections of the two). It is assumed that each wallet will have its own address that has its own namespaced bundle identifiers

Nope, you’re understanding it correctly. If I have an EOA today, I can freely switch between wallet applications with no drawbacks. As a user, I can’t support a standard that restricts that freedom (though as an EIP Editor, I can’t stop the proposal.)

Is it that difficult to standardize bundle identifiers?

I agree that users should have mobility of their EOA between wallets. Both wallets should be able to import previous transaction history based on just the account.

For dapp interfaces, e.g. Uniswap interface, this EIP should have no impact on the transaction history UX as long as you don’t connect to a different wallet with the same address while a transaction is still pending. It seems like an edge case for a user to switch wallets for the same EOA while an interaction is pending.

It would not work for the dapp to specify the identifier for the bundle, because that could only be stored in the connected wallet, and would not sync between apps.

You could use the hash of the message bundle, but when switching from wallet app A to wallet app B, wallet app B won’t know the preimage of the bundle and cannot query it from anywhere (i.e. it cannot query it from a JSON RPC as it can do with a transaction hash).