3 Proposals For Making Web3 A Better Experience

Hi,

I am still new to the ethereum magicians but I feel this might be the best place to mention 3 proposals for web3 browsers that should improve the general web3 UX by removing unnecessary confirmations

I explained it in details here : https://medium.com/@wighawag/3-proposals-for-making-web3-a-better-experience-974f97765700

It relies on the idea that web3 browsers checks the origin of the current document before signing and derypting data.

Here is a summary of the 3 proposals:

proposal 1 : automated decryption via checked origin injection :

Whenever an application want to encrypt some data, it first prepend to the decrypted data, the origin(s) that would be allowed to decrypt. It then encrypt the result.

Then when an application (could be the same) want to decrypt, it request description from the web3 browser.

The web browser will

1. internally decrypt the data,

2. extract the origin

3. check if the origin of the document currently requesting decryption matches the (or one of the) origin prepended to the data.

4 a) if it matches, the data is given to the application decrypted

4 b) if it does not match, decryption is refused and the application get an error

Since,with this scheme it is impossible for an application to decrypt without being part of the allowed origin and that the application having access to the data is the one that set the allowed origin, there is no risk in making such decryption without user confirmation, allowing a much nicer experience.

proposal 2: automated origin check on EIP712 (or other signing method)

This proposals modifiy EIP712 slightly to (using automated origin checks by the web3 browser) add extra security by ensuring verifiers can know from which origin the user has been requested to sign. This allow the verifier to only allow origin which the user explicitly approved, bringing a new mechanism for per-application approval. This scheme also enable proposal 3.